A Star is Born

It’s been awhile since I told you what Andrew has been up to. He took a class in marquetry at Red Rocks Community College in Lakewood and really enjoyed it. One thing he mentioned about marquetry is that fitting the pieces of veneer together so precisely is a lot like working on a puzzle. One of the artistic pieces he’s creating is a memory box and this beautiful star will be part of it. I believe this is part of the Lakota Nation’s heritage (if I’m wrong, please forgive me. I mean no disrespect). Andrew researched this star to include on the box because it is very important for the recipient to pay homage to ancestry.

To me, the star is fascinating due to the optical illusion. When I star at the center, it pulses outward. Hope you enjoy the pictures!

15492500_10206047470344253_8135782151976662998_n

Leave a Reply

